top of page

Wines of Saint-Emilion Appellation

The Saint-Émilion Classification whose latest edition was published in 2022 list 85 properties, including 14 Premiers Grands Crus Classés (including 2 Premier Grands Crus Classés A) and 64 Grands Crus Classés.


The wines of Saint-Émilion are typically blended from different grape varieties, the three main ones being Merlot (60% of the blend), Cabernet Franc (nearly 30%) and Cabernet Sauvignon (around 10%).

Merlot is usually the main grape variety of the blend but some Chateaux are known to blend differently:

Château Ausone and Château Cheval Blanc are known to use a high proportion of Cabernet Franc in their blend (roughly half of it). 

Château Figeac's blend most often relies on equal portions of Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon but, it can vary a little from vintage to vintage.

One top Saint-Émilion estate has chosen not to be classified: Château Tertre Roteboeuf 

Château Ausone , Château Cheval Blanc and Château Angelus have decided to withdraw from the ten-yearly St. Emilion classification before the 2022 edition. 

History of the Saint-Émilion Classification

In 1936, the “Saint- Émilion” AOC was officially recognized. In 1954 came three more: Saint-Émilion Grand Cru, Saint- Émilion Grand Cru Classé and Saint-Émilion Premier Grand Cru Classé.

In 1955, responding to a request from the Union for the Defence of the Saint-Émilion Grand Cru Appellation, the French national institute of appellations (INAO) made a classification of the wines of the appellation.

It has been revised every ten years since that date and seven classifications have therefore been implemented. 

Several vineyard changes took place with the 2012 St. Emilion classification:
Chateau Magdelaine was absorbed into Chateau Belair-Monange.

Chateau Bergat was added to Chateau Trotte Vieille.

Chateau Cadet Bon was merged into Chateau Soutard.
La Tour du Pin was annexed into Chateau Cheval Blanc.

What makes this classification original is that it is revised every 10 years. 


But for the 2022 classification, several prominent estates such as Château Ausone, Château Cheval Blanc, Château Angelus and Château La Gaffelière have decided to withdraw their candidacy. 

Classification of Saint-Emilion Crus 2022




Château Beau-Séjour Bécot

Château Beauséjour (Héritiers Dufau-Lagarrosse)

Château Bélair-Monange

Château Canon

Château Canon la Gaffelière

Clos Fourtet

Château Figeac (A)

La Mondotte

Château Larcis Ducasse

Château Pavie (A)

Château Pavie Macquin

Château Troplong Mondot

Château TrotteVieille

Château Valandraud


Château Badette

Château Balestard la Tonnelle

Château Barde-Haut

Château Bellefont Belcier

Château Bellevue

Château Berliquet

Château Boutisse

Château Cadet-Bon

Château Cap de Mourlin

Château Chauvin

Château Clos de Sarpe

Château Corbin

Château Corbin Michotte

Château Croix de Labrie

Château Côte de Baleau

Château Dassault

Château Destieux

Château Faugères

Château Fleur Cardinale

Château Fombrauge

Château Fonplégade

Château Fonroque

Château Franc Mayne

Château Grand Corbin

Château Grand Corbin-Despagne

Château Grand Mayne

Château Guadet

Château Haut-Sarpe

Château Jean Faure

Château La Fleur Morange

Château Laniote

Château Larmande

Château Laroque

Château Laroze

Château Le Prieuré

Château Mangot

Château Monbousquet

Château Montlabert

Château Montlisse

Château Moulin du Cadet

Château Peby Faugères

Château Petit Faurie de Soutard

Château Ripeau

Château Rochebelle

Château Rol Valentin

Château Saint-Georges-Cote-Pavie

Château Sansonnet

Château Soutard

Château Tour Baladoz

Château Tour Saint-Christophe

Château Villemaurine

Château Yon-Figeac

Château de Ferrand

Château de Pressac

Château la Commanderie

Château la Confession

Château la Couspaude

Château la Croizille

Château la Dominique

Château la Marzelle

Château la Serre

Château la Tour Figeac

Château le Chatelet

Clos Badon Thunevin

Clos Dubreuil

Clos Saint-Julien

Clos Saint-Martin

Clos de l'Oratoire

Clos des Jacobins

Couvent des Jacobins


Saint Emilion.JPG

The city of Saint Emilion, located 35km northeast of Bordeaux, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. 

view from Chateau Tertre Roteboeuf.JPG

View on the vineyards of Saint Emilion from Château Tertre Roteboeuf

bottom of page